Adapting to change during COVID-19

Fulbright Morocco
2 min readMay 11, 2020

By: Marwane El Alaoui

Marwane El Alaoui is a 2019–2020 Humphrey Fellow at the University of Boston. He serves as a Magistrate in the Court of Accounts; the Supreme Audit Institution in Morocco

“During these historical moments, the world is facing one of the biggest challenges. For me, it is something I’ve never seen in my life, and it is also something I am experimenting during my Humphrey fellowship year in the US. This program helped me to hone my leadership skills in order to seek a better future for the people. For this reason, I see that it is a crucial thing to think about how can we stay safe and help others to survive through different actions and measures.

For sure, this COVID-19 pandemic pushed many people to change the way they are living, and also to invent different ways and alternatives of doing things. Therefore, it should be a real opportunity to rethink this world in a way that will allow us to face all these challenges and come up with new sustainable solutions.

Personally, I am trying to deal with this situation and taking it very seriously especially after the exponential growth of cases and deaths in the U.S. So I am staying at home and I am doing all my academic and professional activities remotely. I also order everything online when it comes to run errands, and I developed new habits about sterilizing every single thing and of course washing my hands frequently. Moreover, being far from the family and some friends is another hard time because I sometimes become worried about them, so I keep in touch with them regularly in order to comfort them and be sure they are respecting all the necessary precautions. Unfortunately, we lost two of our colleagues in the Court of Accounts in Morocco, and it was a very sad news to us.

Finally, I hope that we will be able to beat that virus soon and turn this page as we’ve already done in many other difficult moments that we have experienced in the past. I wish everyone safe from virus and those who suffer from it, I wish they all recover soon and may God protect us from any harm!”

--

--